Our club structure

Devizes Canoe Club is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO). This means that we have all the advantages of registration with the Charities Commission, but also gain the benefits available to limited companies, including limiting the liability of trustees and members. As a CIO we are regulated by the Charity Commission and file a single annual report and a set of accounts.

Being a charitable organisation confers many advantages including exemption from business rates and access to grant restricted to charities. It also has some responsibilities. We are governed by our CIO constitution and nominate trustees to conduct the club’s business, including financial and asset management. Trustees are directly responsible to the Charity Commission on behalf of our members.

The Club is governed by the CIO Constitution. This important document sets out the CIO’s powers and scope, including things like trustees’ and members’ liabilities and duties. We suggest you read it. It is our primary governance document and in the event of conflict with any other policy, the constitution will prevail.

See CIO constitution

CIO management structure

The club’s governance structure is relatively simple:
Trustees’ Committee. Consists of the Club’s trustees who meet infrequently to approve significant financial or legal commitments on the club’s behalf, including things like investment in the built estate, and to approve major changes in policy. They are ultimately accountable to the Charity Commission for the club’s effective governance.

CIO Trustees

There are currently 8 trustees:

  • Chair: Mark Bouch
  • Secretary: Ann Slator
  • CIO Treasurer: Paul Papworth-Smith
  • Trustee: Chris Jones
  • Trustee: Andy Allan
  • Trustee: Juliet Fooks
  • Trustee: Sue Colby
  • In attendance: Stuart Colby (as DCC Facilities Manager)

Anyone may apply to be a Trustee. Trustees are appointed by the annual general meeting of members.

Club Management Committee

The Trustees delegate operational management responsibilities to a club management committee who meet monthly or as often as required. All members of the management committee have a specific role within the club:


Mark Bouch

Deputy Chair:

Sue Colby


Ann Slator

Safeguarding Officer:

Katie Scaplehorn

Deputy Safeguarding Officer:

Dan Colby

Deputy Safeguarding Officer:

Emma O’Hare

Safety Officer:

Ian Thackray

Facilities Manager:

Stuart Colby

Lead Coach:

Bev Hunter

Junior Coaching Coordinator:

Jon Scaplehorn

Senior Coaching Coordinator:

Sue Colby

Volunteer Coordinator:

Emma O’Hare

Communications/PR Officer:

Anna Overton

Social Officer:

Sue Colby

Other members/officers may be co-opted and invited to attend any meeting. They include roles vital to the club’s successful operations including:

Boat Storage Coordinator:

Jon Scaplehorn

Captain of Boats

Nigel Chivers

Junior Racing Coordinator:

Sarah Cook

Senior Racing Coordinator:

Nigel Chivers

Event Safety Officer

Nigel Chivers

Committee membership is open to all Club members, though we will only appoint committee members to fill specific roles required to ensure the efficient management of the club and ensure the committee does not get so large it becomes inefficient.

Members wishing to put their names forward to serve on the management committee should submit their name to the Club Chair or Club Secretary at any time.

The club committee maintains a record of all decisions made. These documents (known as ‘minutes’) are available to all club members and from January 2021 are published on the club website. Minutes from meetings prior to 2021 may be requested from the Club Secretary.

Club Coaching Group

The Coaching Group includes all our BC qualified coaches and any volunteer who supports programme delivery on the water, including paddle group leaders, paddlesport leaders and potential coaches who are training towards qualification.

The Coaching Group’s role is to:

  • Coordinate coaching resources across the senior and junior programme
  • Share best coaching practice to maintain coaching standards and consistency
  • Support development of future club coaches
  • Ensure a team approach to coaching delivery

Bev Hunter leads the Club Coaching Group.

Back to Top

UK Registered Charity: 1156402 | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Club Governance